NFL 2016 – Week One – Live TV Coverage on Sky Sports; Highlights on BBC

Home - Sports Coverage - NFL 2016 – Week One – Live TV Coverage on Sky Sports; Highlights on BBC
NFL 2016 – Week One – Live TV Coverage on Sky Sports; Highlights on BBC

The 2016 National Football League season gets underway this evening as the Carolina Panthers take on the 2016 Super Bowl champions, Denver Broncos.

The match will be shown live on Sky Sports and will be the first of six matches to be shown live on Sky in week one.

The Greenbay Packers at Jacksonville Jaguars is the first of Sky’s triple header on Sunday evening (6pm) following by Dallas Cowboys hosting New York Giants (9.25pm).

The night’s action is topped off with NBC’s Sunday Night Football, which sees the Tom Brady-less New England Patriots travel to Arizona Cardinals (1.30am).

The tradition opening weekend double header of Monday Night Football begins with Steelers at the Redskins (12.10am) followed by an all NFC West clash between the L.A Rams and San Francisco 49ers (3.20am).

For the first month of the season, NFL viewers can watch every touchdown on Sky Sports Mix via Redzone – even if you’re not a Sky Sports customer.

The BBC will air weekly highlights throughout the season starting on 17 September. The NFL show follows Match of the Day on Saturdays.

This year there will also be a Tuesday night review show every week of the season on BBC Two, starting on 13 September at 11.20pm. ‘NFL: This Week’ will feature the best of the action all the way through to Super Bowl LI in Houston next February.

Both Sky and the BBC will air Super Bowl 2017 live as well as three international series games which take place at Wembley and Twickenham in October.

Week One, TV Schedule (w/comms and ref details).

Thursday 8 September

Carolina Panthers @ Denver Broncos
1.30am BST – Sky Sports / 8.30pm EDT – NBC
Comms: Al Michaels, Cris Collinsworth, Michele Tafoya
Ref: Gene Steratore

Sunday 11 September

Greenbay Packers @ Jacksonville Jaguars
6.00pm BST – Sky Sports / 1.00pm EDT – Fox (primary)
Comms: Kevin Burkhardt, John Lynch, Pam Oliver
Ref: Carl Cheffers

New York Giants @ Dallas Cowboys
9.25pm BST / 4.25pm EDT – Fox (primary)
Comms: Joe Buck, Troy Aikman, Erin Andrews
Ref: Ron Torbert

New England Patriots @ Arizona Cardinals
1.30am BST – Sky Sports / 8.30pm EDT – NBC
Comms: Al Michaels, Cris Collinsworth, Michele Tafoya
Ref: Tony Corrente

Monday 12 September

Pittsburgh Steelers @ Washington Redskins
12.10am BST – Sky Sports / 7.10pm EDT – ESPN
Comms: Sean McDonough, Jon Gruden, Lisa Salters
Ref: Craig Wrolstad

L.A Rams @ San Francisco 49ers
3.20am BST – Sky Sports / 10.20pm EDT – ESPN
Comms: Chris Berman, Steve Young, Lindsay Czarniak
Ref: Bill Vinovich

Update on Thursday 8 September 2016
German Grand Prix 2018 – Live TV Coverage on Sky Sports, Highlights on Channel 4

The German Grand Prix takes place this weekend as the 2018 Formula One season continues. This will be the 11th round of the season, which comes from Hockenheimring, as the race takes place for the first time in two years,… Read more

The Open 2018 – Live TV Coverage on Sky Sports, Highlights on BBC

The 2018 Golf Open Championship will take place this week (19–22 July) at Carnoustie in Angus, Scotland. It will be the 147th Open Championship and the eight to be played at the Carnoustie Golf Links. Jordan Spieth takes to the… Read more

Thierry Henry to leave Sky Sports

Thierry Henry is to leave Sky Sports to concentrate on his coaching career. The fomrer Arsenal striker, who joined the Sky Sports team in 2015, has been Belgium’s assistant manager since 2016 under Roberto Martinez, and returns from this summer’s… Read more